Search-and-Destory.com: are they spammers and scammers?

So... I checked my email this morning, and found approximately half a dozen comments spammed all over my website identical to the one below:

Search and Destroy spam

These comments came from a user who registered with the email address stevedhiwar@gmail.com and the IP address of 59.98.205.130, which is somewhere in India.

A quick search of the website search-and-destroy.com (not hyperlinked on purpose) reveals a horribly boilerplate site with nothing much in the way of contact info (here's a screencap), save an email address. Doing a WHOIS on their domain name shows the following:

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: SEARCH-AND-DESTROY.COM
Created on: 25-Jul-04
Expires on: 25-Jul-11
Last Updated on: 25-Jan-08

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration SEARCH-AND-DESTROY.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2598

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration SEARCH-AND-DESTROY.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2598

Domain servers in listed order:
NS21.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS22.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

What kind of company fails to list any real-world contact info on their website and then hides behind a domain proxy service? And the answer would be: one that has something to hide!

I can't help but question the legitimacy of any company that resorts to spamming peoples' blogs and refuses to give out any real contact info on their website. I warned ya!

0
No votes yet
Your rating: None